Marley (F)

imageName: Marley
Sex: Female
Approximate Age: 19 months
Purebred or Mix: Purebred
Color: Black/Brown
Coat Type: Horsecoat
Adoption Donation Requested: $400
Foster Location: Jacksonville, FL
Size/Weight: 35lbs
Dog Friendly: Yes
Cat Friendly: Yes
OK with Small Children: TBD
Energy Level: Moderately Active
NOTES: Marley is UTD on shots and spayed. She is being treated for heartworms.

Hi! I’m Marley. I am a little over a year and a half old and have a black & brown horsecoat. I was very skinny when I came into rescue but I am eating well and gaining weight. I just got here but am looking for my “furever” home. My new foster family is teaching me to sit and some other things that I didn’t know how to do before I came into the rescue. I am good in a crate and haven’t had any accidents in the house since I have been here.


Marley has had entropion surgery and is ready to find her new home. She is still HW+ but is being treated but can still be adopted to someone who will continue to give her treatment until she is HW-. FSPR will supply the medication for the Heartworm treatment. Marley will do very well in a home with other dogs. She follows her foster brother around and has learned a lot from him. She is very playful and loves to play with toys and chew on hoofies and Nylabones. She gets along well with both male and female dogs as well as cats. She would love a fenced yard but is good on a leash and loves walks so if you don’t have a fence, it’s okay. It does take Marley some time to warm up but we have had guests whom she has warmed up to by the end of the night. She just needs some time to figure out that you are there to spoil her too. She goes to doggy daycare with her foster brother and plays very well with all of the other guests. She also has warmed up to the staff and they love having her there. Marley would do well in a home with no children or older children that can give her time to warm up to them. Marley is crate trained and knows how to sit, knows “in” and “out”, and is learning to lay down and stay. If you are interested in Marley, please fill out an application. She loves it at her foster home but she wants to find her “fur”ever home so that another doggie can come out of doggie jail and take her place in her foster home.

My foster family thinks that I was an outside dog but I am loving being inside now. I like to take walks and don’t pull too much on the leash. I am scared of fast movements but my foster family takes me places and they have lots of different people pet me and give me treats so I am starting to not be so afraid anymore. I like to follow the cat around but I never try to hurt him. The other doggies at my foster home are teaching me how to play and eat treats. I love treats now but when I first came to stay here, I wouldn’t even try them. I have never had anyone to play with before either so I just watched everyone run around with these things they call “toys”. Now, I will pick them up and carry them around but I’m still not sure what I am supposed to do. I get along really well with all of the other doggies though… even when they bounce all over me.

I’m really happy and fun and think I would make a good addition to your home. What do you think? If you’re interested in adopting me, please fill out an application for me so we can meet!